Think HBR

2018 Newcastle Architecture Awards winners revealed

NewSpace Exterior
The Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of the 2018 Newcastle Architecture Awards on Friday 23 March.
The night’s top award, the Newcastle Jury Prize, went to the University of Newcastle’s “vertical campus,” NeW Space, designed by Lyons and EJE Architecture.
The jury noted the building is “an exemplar of design for ‘new generation’ learning, urban renewal, and of civic place making, drawing together a complex brief of interlocking educational and public spaces.” The building also received awards in the Urban Design, Educational Architecture and Interior Architecture categories.
The Newcastle Architecture Awards received a record number entries in 2018, a demonstration of the breadth of work undertaken across a number categories.
“Architects are contributing to providing better environments in Newcastle across all spheres and Newcastle seems to have an abundance of refreshingly down to earth, friendly, welcoming architects and supportive, happy, enlightened clients who are immensely proud of their projects,” said Sam Crawford, jury chair. “All of this bodes well for the future.”
Projects that have won awards are now eligible for the NSW Architecture Awards which will be announced on 6 July.
Newcastle Jury Prize
NeW Space, University of Newcastle – Lyons and EJE Architecture
Public Architecture
Winner: Maitland No.1 Sportsground – Maitland City Council in association with the NSW Government Architect’s Office and CKDS
Commendation: Opal Hillside – DWP Design Worldwide Partnership
Urban Design
Winner: NeW Space, University of Newcastle – Lyons and EJE Architecture Educational Architecture
Winners: NeW Space, University of Newcastle – Lyons and EJE Architecture;
St Patrick’s Primary School, Lochinvar - Stage 1 – SHAC
Commercial Architecture
Commendations: Newcastle Private Hospital Kingston Extension –
DWP Design Worldwide Partnership; Nelson Bay Golf Club – EJE Architecture
Interior Architecture
Winner: NeW Space, University of Newcastle – Lyons and EJE Architecture
Commendations: Lyons House – EDH Group Architects;
MJH Group Workplace – SDA
Residential Architecture – Houses (New)
Winner: Brass House – Anthrosite
Commendations: Three Piece House – Trias; Light House – Jodie Dixon Architect
Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions)
Winner: The Blue House – Welsh and Major
Commendations: Hund Haus – Jodie Dixon Architect;
Eighty-Four Gordon – SDA
Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing
Commendations: Corlette Street – CKDS Architecture
Capri – SDA
Small Project Architecture
Winner: Islington Park – Curious Practice
Commendation: North Avoca Studio – Matt Thitchener Architect
Sustainable Architecture
Winner: Three Piece House – Trias
Winner: King Street Adaptive Reuse – CKDS Architecture
Commendation: Maitland Town Hall - Auditorium Refurbishment –
Maitland City Council and the NSW Government Architect’s Office
Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture
Winner: North Avoca Studio – Matt Thitchener Architect