Think HBR

Three UON research leaders awarded prestigious fellowship

Three University of Newcastle (UON) research leaders are among the distinguished health and medical scientists elected as Fellows of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS).
Professor Julie Byles, Laureate Professor Paul Foster and Professor Christopher Levi join 74 new fellows, adding to the existing Fellowship of 131.
Professor Julie Byles is Director of the Research Centre for Gender, Health and Ageing, a Priority Research Centre at UON that includes the World Health Organisation Collaborating Centre for International Longitudinal Studies on Gender, Ageing and Health. She is the Director of the Australian Longitudinal Study on Women's Health at the University.
Laureate Professor Paul Foster is an international leader in respiratory disorders and the Director of the UON’s Priority Research Centre for Asthma and Respiratory Disease, the Director of VIVA (Vaccines, Immunology, Viruses and Asthma) at the Hunter Medical Research Institute and is the University's Chair in Immunology.
Conjoint Professor Chris Levi is working on more than eight ground-breaking research projects improving stroke treatment options for patients including working with fellow UON researcher Professor Mark Parsons as the principal investigators on a global acute stroke trial.
Former UON Vice-Chancellor, Professor Emeritus Nicholas Saunders, was also honoured as one of 13 outstanding individuals who joined Sir Gustav Nossal with an honorary Fellowship.